Leaving My Homeland: After the Journey

Set of 12 titles
  • Interest Level: Grade 3 - Grade 6
  • Reading Level: Grade 4

A refugee's journey does not end after they escape conflict, persecution, and displacement in their home country. Six new titles continue the stories of fictional refugees featured in the award-winning Leaving My Homeland series. After the Journey is a thoughtful and important look at how refugee children and their families face and overcome challenges after fleeing their homelands. Each fictional story is interwoven with accessible, nonfiction text, which updates readers on the current conflict in that country and ways in which new countries offer support to newcomers. Discussion prompts at the end of each book support understanding and encourage critical thinking. Free downloadable Teacher's Guide available.

Format Your Price Add
Interest Level Grade 3 - Grade 6
Reading Level Grade 4
Age Range 8 - 11
Dewey 305.23-958.1
Lexile 690L-800L
ATOS Reading Level 4.5-5.2
Guided Reading Level Q-S
Subjects Social Studies
Publisher Crabtree Publishing
Imprint Crabtree Classics
Copyright 2019
Number of Pages
Rights Included WORLD
Language English

School Library Journal

Told in a scrapbook style with lots of pictures and statistics, this series will humanize the people who are too often maligned and ignored.

CM Magazine

Whether your school or community has a high number of refugee children or not, the books in the Leaving My Homeland: After the Journey series belong in every library.

Leaving My Homeland After The Journey: Series Guide

Refer to download View →