A Class of their Own

Set of 6 titles
  • Interest Level: Grade 5 - Grade 8
  • Reading Level: Grade 7

This series explores the five accepted kingdoms that make up the living world - animals, plants, fungi, protista, and bacteria - and one kingdom currently proposed by scientists: other single-celled microorganisms called Archaea. Each book deals with a particular kingdom and the topic of taxonomy (classification) of its organisms, and explains how the organisms are classified into the smaller groups of phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species. Also covered are the ways in which the different organisms are used by people and how they interact with organisms of other kingdoms. The differences between the different kingdoms are covered, too. Case studies involve recent scientific research and applications.

Format Your Price Add
Interest Level Grade 5 - Grade 8
Reading Level Grade 7
Age Range 10 - 13
Dewey 579-590.1
Lexile 990L-1110L
ATOS Reading Level 7.5-8.3
Guided Reading Level X
Subjects Life Science
Genres Nonfiction
Publisher Crabtree Publishing
Imprint Crabtree Classics
Copyright 2010
Number of Pages 48
Dimensions 8.5 x 11
Graphics Full-color photographs
Rights Included WORLD
Language English
Full-color photographs